Vursatyl – Bring It To A Halt

If you’ve caught Blackalicious on tour over the last fifteen years or so, you will have witnessed first hand the prodigious talent of Portland based rapper and singer Vursatyl.
Now 24 years into his rap career, Crooked Straights marks a brand new chapter in Vurstatyl’s story; unbelievably this is the first time he’s taken centre stage and released a solo record.

Vursatyl – Crooked Straights coming soon on BBE Music

Calibro 35 – Sabotaggio

While the band is ready to kick off a new European tour, Calibro 35 new Single “Sabotaggio” is available from Today as a Free Download here.
Originally recorded for Sky Arte – Variazioni Bertallot Show, the track sees our crime funk heroes entirely re-set on music Beastie Boys’ “Sabotage”.
Much more than a cover version or a simply mashup, “Sabotaggio” is the perfect fusion between Adrock, MCA and Mike D’s voices and Calibro 35’s killer groove! A spacetime trip from 90s New York to Today.

Lady Day – 100 years of Billie Holiday

Millenium Jazz is back with another great tribute album, this time it’s Lady Day’s turn.

‘ We’ve took time out to honour one of the biggest talents to ever do it in Jazz music as we salute Billie Holiday on what would have been her 100th Birthday on the day of the release of our tribute to her.
The ‘Lady Day’ tribute contains music made up of Billie Holiday cover songs and instrumentals that sample tracks from Holiday’s discography. Styles range from Dusty, Boom Bap, Jazz Ballad, Electronic, Trip Hop, Jazzhop and Experimental.
Much love to all who participated in this project including those who couldn’t finish in time. And of course to ‘Lady Day’ herself ..Billie Holiday -(April 7th 1915 – July 17th 1959) R.I.P ‘

Thing Leaves The House

Last year’s Record Store Day was genuinely one of the most memorable and important days in the life of First Word. We released our first RSD release – Nothing Leaves The House, a project that was dreamt up on RSD 2012, and finally shared two years later.
A year on from the day the trio of Eric Lau, Tall Black Guy and kidkanevil visited Mr Thing’s collection to sample his records (where nothing could leave the house), we gathered them at London’s Love Vinyl record shop where he had brought one record from his collection for each producer. Their challenge was to make a beat from the individually chosen records: the results massively exceeded our expectations. Originally Mr Thing was going to make a track from something in his collection too, but the three producers decided that he should go through the same process as they would. They picked a record from the racks of the shop (they had to find one he didn’t already own first) and his beat was created from that. The result is 4 tracks that truly capture the personalities of each producer, and a record that is born out of a heartfelt love of records – we hope you enjoy listening to it as much as we enjoyed making it.

Bombay Royale – Wild Stallion Mountain / Khubsoorat Bewafa

Get ready for white light on white wax, baby. Spinning your way at 45 rpm, The Bombay Royale’s latest piece of retro-Bollywood-freakadelic-disco is not powered so much by the forces of nature, as it is by forces beyond nature. You may say “Eurovision on acid in Mumbai,” but we say “Wild Stallion Mountain.” On the flip side is Khubsoorat Bewafa, a dark, pulsing, late night tale of treacherous hearts. Kalyanji and Anandji meets Blondie at the Heartbreak Hotel. A side and B side, light and dark, are balanced to create a harmonious whole.

Bombay Royale – Wild Stallion Mountain / Khubsoorat Bewafa 7″ avaiable on RSD on Hope Street Recordings

Spiritual Jazz 6

Spiritual Jazz 6: Vocals examines some of the rarest and most extraordinary vocal jazz recordings. We have included some well-known songs, as well as some of the most obscure. There are tracks recorded made for major labels, and some that were issued privately. But all of them speak or sing of a better place or a better world, and the world can only be a better place when they are played.
This is esoteric jazz, modal jazz, spiritual jazz – as performed with the human voice.

– All tracks fully licensed and digitally restored from the original master tapes
– Comprehensive liner notes with added individual notes on each track and original stories direct from the musicians involved
– Most tracks never before reissued – previously only available on rare, long-deleted LPs
– Deluxe double vinyl LP pressing with gloss gatefold sleeve
– Only on Jazzman – all because WE DIG DEEPER!

Available now on Double Vinyl, CD and Digital at Jazzman Records

Pings & Mr. Brown – Look

‘Look’ is a 6 track instrumental project by Pings & Mr Brown. All the tracks have been created by sampling a multitude of cover versions of a well-known song from the late 60’s. The initial idea for the project came about when the two producers over the years exchanged beats they had created from different versions of the song. This resulted in a perfect concept for a record.

Now available for pre-order, ships on 10.04.15, on the King Underground site